Introduction

Make a simple and intuitive display of Nightingale, explain the similarities and differences with Open-Falcon, explain its architecture and future development.

Nightingale introduction

This section gives a brief introduction to Nightingale, so that you can have a preliminary intuitive feeling for the system and prepare for a deeper understanding.

Nightingale system interface

Looking directly at the system interface is the most intuitive way to understand the system. Here are a few pictures to give everyone a preliminary understanding.

The picture above is the object page under the node. The object refers to the target monitoring object, usually refers to the machine. This tree is called the service tree. From top to bottom, it is described as the organizational structure relationship, product service module relationship, engine room and machine mounting relationship. This is a grouping mechanism for machines. This tree supports flexible customization. When the actual monitoring strategy is configured, it is necessary to configure different alarm strategies for different machines with different purposes. Therefore, a flexible machine grouping mechanism is very important.

The above picture is the monitoring strategy configuration page. The strategies in the list are all applied to the didi.storage node. Therefore, all the machines mounted on all child nodes under this node will apply this strategy. Any machine that reaches the relevant threshold will trigger an alarm. It is super convenient. :-)

The customization of the monitoring dashboard has been greatly improved in terms of ease of use. It supports chart thresholds and chart classification. New charts and sorting management are all visible and what you get. Customizing the inspection dashboard is no longer difficult.

Similarities and differences with Open-Falcon

Since Nightingale has a deep relationship with Open-Falcon, it is certain that everyone will be more interested in the similarities and differences between each other. Overall, the concept has a strong continuity, and the improvement in architecture and product experience is huge.

Differences from Open-Falcon

  • Alarm engine was refactored to push-pull combination mode,The push mode ensures the efficiency of policy judgments, and the pull mode supports nodata alarms. Remove the original nodata components to simplify the difficulty of system deployment
  • Introduced service tree, hierarchically manage the endpoint, remove the original flat HostGroup, and remove the alarm template at the same time. The alarm strategy is directly bound to the service tree node, greatly improving flexibility and ease of use.
  • Remove the original database-based index library, change to the memory mode, and use an index module to process the index alone, avoiding the embarrassment of the original MySQL single expression to the billion level, and the efficiency of the index is greatly improved after the memory-based index.
  • Storage module Graph introduced Facebook’s Gorilla, which is the memory TSDB. The data of the last few hours is stored in memory by default, which greatly improves the efficiency of data query. The hard disk storage method still uses rrdtool.
  • The judge module of the alarm engine achieves automatic fault removal through the heartbeat mechanism, and there is no need to worry about the failure of a single judge to cause some strategies to fail. The index module uses a similar method to ensure system availability.
  • The client has built-in log matching index extraction capability. The web page supports the configuration of log matching rules, and also supports the way to read the configuration file in the specific directory of the target machine, making business index monitoring easier to use.
  • The portal (api in falcon-plus), uic, dashboard, hbs, and alarm are combined into a module called monapi, which simplifies the overall system deployment difficulty, and the original inter-module call becomes an in-process method call, with better stability.

Similarities with Open-Falcon

  • The data model remains consistent, and it is still the organization of metric, endpoint, and tags, so the agent can be reused. The agent in Nightingale is called collector, which combines the logic of the original Open-Falcon agent and falcon-log-agent, and various monitoring plugins can also be reused.
  • The data flow and processing logic of Nightingale and Open-Falcon are similar, and still use a flexible push model, which is divided into two links for data storage and alarm judgment. In the next section, we will explain in detail based on the architecture diagram.

Nightingale architecture overview

  • The collector is an agent, which can collect common indicators of the machine, support log monitoring, plug-in mechanism, and business can directly report data through the API interface.
  • Transfer provides an rpc interface to receive the data reported by the collector, and then pass the data through a consistent hash algorithm, and then forward it to multiple tsdb and multiple judges.
  • Tsdb-The original graph component, used to store historical data, supports configuration in double-write mode, which improves the system’s disaster tolerance. At the same time, tsdb will forward a copy of monitoring data to index.
  • Index is an index module, replaces the original mysql program. The index builds an index in memory, facilitates data retrieval, and greatly improves performance.
  • Judge is an alarm engine. Judge synchronizes monitoring strategies from monapi (portal), and then makes alarm judgments by the received data. If the threshold is reached, an alarm event is generated and pushed to redis.
  • Monapi (alarm) reads the event generated by the judge from redis, then performing secondary processing, adding some meta information, generating an alarm message, and pushes back to redis finally.
  • Multiple sending components, such as mail-sender, sms-sender, etc., read alarm messages from redis, send alarms, and extract various senders to facilitate customization.
  • Monapi integrates the functions of the original multiple modules and provides APIs for front-end calls. The api prefix is ​​/api /portal. We use transfer to query data. The original query component is removed. The api prefix is /api /transfer The api prefix of the query is /api /index, so using nginx, you can forward the request to different backends through different locations.
  • The database still is mysql, and the main storage contents include: user information, team information, tree node information, alarm strategy, monitoring dashboard, shieldding strategy, collection strategy, heartbeat information of some components, etc.

For more information,the video may be helpful:Nightingale architecture overview

Nightingale Roadmap

1、Provide monitoring index aggregation components. The current architecture can solve the machine-level and module-level monitoring, but the cluster-level monitoring indicators need to aggregate the indicators of all modules and machines in the entire cluster and do some operations such as summing and averaging. We already have some related components, but it will take time to release.

2、Support container monitoring, combine with Prometheus, or directly collect cadvisor data. There is no specific plan now and we will continue our efforts in this aspect.

3、Improve and support more monitoring plugins. Many plugins of the Open-Falcon community can be used directly. We will try to add plugins that the community does not have. For plugins that have been out of repair in the community, we will reorganize them to make Nightingale’s surroundings more complete.

介绍

对夜莺做一个简单直观的展示,讲解与Open-Falcon的异同,讲解其架构和后续发展

Nightingale介绍

本节对Nightingale做一个简要介绍,让您对系统有个初步直观感受,为后面的深入了解做准备。

Nightingale系统截图

直接看系统截图,是最直观的了解系统的方式,这里截几张图,让大家有个初步的认识

上图是节点下对象页面,对象,是指目标监控对象,通常是指机器,这棵树称为服务树,从上到下描述为组织架构关系、产品服务模块关系、机房和机器挂载关系,此树支持灵活定制。这本质上是对机器的一个分组机制,实际做监控策略配置的时候,必然是不同用途的机器配置不同的告警策略,所以,一个灵活的机器分组机制,非常重要

上图是监控策略配置页面,列表中的策略都是应用到didi.storage节点的,故而,该节点下的所有子节点挂载的所有的机器都会应用这个策略,任何一台机器触发相关阈值都会告警,是不是超方便 :-)

监控大盘的定制做了大幅易用性改进,支持了图表阈值,支持了图表分类,新增图表和排序管理都是可见即所得的方式,巡检大盘的定制从此不再是困难。

与Open-Falcon的异同

由于Nightingale与Open-Falcon有很深的血缘关系,想必大家对二者的对比会较为感兴趣。总体来看,理念上有很强的延续性,架构和产品体验上的改进巨大。

与Open-Falcon的不同点

  • 告警引擎重构为推拉结合模式,通过推模式保证大部分策略判断的效率,通过拉模式支持了nodata告警,去除原来的nodata组件,简化系统部署难度
  • 引入了服务树,对endpoint进行层级管理,去除原来扁平的HostGroup,同时干掉告警模板,告警策略直接与服务树节点绑定,大幅提升灵活度和易用性
  • 干掉原来的基于数据库的索引库,改成内存模式,单独抽出一个index模块处理索引,避免了原来MySQL单表达到亿级的尴尬局面,索引基于内存之后效率也大幅提升
  • 存储模块Graph,引入facebook的Gorilla,即内存TSDB,近期几个小时的数据默认存内存,大幅提升数据查询效率,硬盘存储方式仍然使用rrdtool
  • 告警引擎judge模块通过心跳机制做到了故障自动摘除,再也不用担心单个judge挂掉导致部分策略失效的问题,index模块也是采用类似方式保证可用性
  • 客户端中内置了日志匹配指标抽取能力,web页面上支持了日志匹配规则的配置,同时也支持读取目标机器特定目录下的配置文件的方式,让业务指标监控更为易用
  • 将portal(falcon-plus中的api)、uic、dashboard、hbs、alarm合并为一个模块:monapi,简化了系统整体部署难度,原来的部分模块间调用变成进程内方法调用,稳定性更好

与Open-Falcon的相同点

  • 数据模型没有变化,仍然是metric、endpoint、tags的组织方式,所以agent基本是可以复用的,Nightingale中的agent叫collector,融合了原来Open-Falcon的agent和falcon-log-agent的逻辑,各种监控插件也都是可以复用的
  • 数据流向和整体处理逻辑是类似的,仍然使用灵活的推模型,分为数据存储和告警判断两条链路,下一节我们基于架构图详细展开

Nightingale架构概述

  • collector即agent,可以采集机器常见指标,支持日志监控,支持插件机制,支持业务通过接口直接上报数据
  • transfer提供rpc接口接收collector上报的数据,然后通过一致性哈希,将数据转发给多台tsdb和多台judge
  • tsdb即原来的graph组件,用于存储历史数据,支持配置为双写模式提升系统容灾能力,tsdb会把监控数据转发一份给index
  • index是索引模块,替换原来的mysql方案,在内存里构建索引,便于后续数据检索,性能大幅提升
  • judge是告警引擎,从monapi(portal)同步监控策略,然后对接收到的数据做告警判断,如满足阈值,则生成告警事件推到redis
  • monapi(alarm)从redis读取judge生成的事件,进行二次处理,补充一些元信息,生成告警消息,重新推回redis
  • 各发送组件,比如mail-sender、sms-sender等,从redis读取告警消息,发送告警,抽出各类sender是为了后续定制方便
  • monapi集成了原来多个模块的功能,提供接口给js调用,api前缀为/api/portal,数据查询走transfer,干掉了原来的query组件,api前缀为/api/transfer,索引查询的api前缀/api/index,于是,前面搭建nginx,即可通过不同location将请求转发到不同后端
  • 数据库仍然使用mysql,主要存储的内容包括:用户信息、团队信息、树节点信息、告警策略、监控大盘、屏蔽策略、采集策略、部分组件心跳信息等

如果想了解更细节的内容,可以参看这个小视频:夜莺架构讲解

Nightingale后续发展

1、提供监控指标聚合组件,现在的架构可以解决机器级、模块级的监控,但是集群维度的监控指标,是需要聚合整个集群的所有模块、机器的指标,做一些加和、求平均之类的操作,这个滴滴内部已经有相关组件,但是整理出来还需要时间

2、接入容器监控,与Prometheus结合,或者直接采集cadvisor的数据,这块具体如何操作暂未想明白,还需再推敲一下

3、完善更多监控插件,之前Open-Falcon社区里的很多插件都是可以直接用的,我们会尽量补充社区没有的插件,对于社区里已经年久失修的插件,我们会二次整理,让Nightingale周边更完善


最后修改 2020-04-08: add zh (be08163)